AMD GPU on Linux
Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2023 4:53 pm
What do I need to do to get folding at home to work on my 6900 XT? Currently running Linux Mint 21.1 and nothing is happening
Community driven support forum for Folding@home
https://foldingforum.org/
Code: Select all
#install AMD drivers, only for openCL
wget https://repo.radeon.com/amdgpu-install/22.40.3/ubuntu/jammy/amdgpu-install_5.4.50403-1_all.deb
sudo apt install ./amdgpu-install_5.4.50403-1_all.deb
sudo amdgpu-install --usecase=opencl --opencl=rocr
#install FAH client
wget https://download.foldingathome.org/releases/public/release/fahclient/debian-stable-64bit/v7.6/fahclient_7.6.21_amd64.deb
sudo apt install ./fahclient_7.6.21_amd64.deb
#add fahclient to render group
sudo usermod -a -G render fahclient
#disable systemd auto-translated service, cannot run fahclient as user fahclient
sudo systemctl stop FAHClient.service
sudo systemctl disable FAHClient.service
#reboot
sudo shutdown -r now
#replace with native fah.service
sudo nano /etc/systemd/system/fah.service
sudo systemctl daemon-reload
sudo systemctl start fah.service
Code: Select all
[Unit]
Description=Folding@Home for Systemd
After=remote-fs.target
After=network-online.target
Wants=network-online.target
[Service]
Type=simple
WorkingDirectory=/var/lib/fahclient
User=fahclient
ExecStartPre=!/usr/bin/touch /var/run/fahclient.pid
ExecStartPre=!/bin/chown fahclient /var/run/fahclient.pid
ExecStart=/usr/bin/FAHClient /etc/fahclient/config.xml --pid-file=/var/run/fahclient.pid
[Install]
WantedBy=default.target
When adding user to render group, better use sudo usermod -a -G render fahclienttchiers wrote: ↑Wed Mar 29, 2023 7:49 pm There have been some challenges over the years, but it's not too bad to get this up and running.
Try this:
fah.service:Code: Select all
#install AMD drivers, only for openCL wget https://repo.radeon.com/amdgpu-install/22.40.3/ubuntu/jammy/amdgpu-install_5.4.50403-1_all.deb sudo apt install ./amdgpu-install_5.4.50403-1_all.deb sudo amdgpu-install --usecase=opencl --opencl=rocr #install FAH client wget https://download.foldingathome.org/releases/public/release/fahclient/debian-stable-64bit/v7.6/fahclient_7.6.21_amd64.deb sudo apt install ./fahclient_7.6.21_amd64.deb #add fahclient to render group sudo usermod -G render fahclient #disable systemd auto-translated service, cannot run fahclient as user fahclient sudo systemctl stop FAHClient.service sudo systemctl disable FAHClient.service #reboot sudo shutdown -r now #replace with native fah.service sudo nano /etc/systemd/system/fah.service sudo systemctl daemon-reload sudo systemctl start fah.service
Then apply the workaround described here: viewtopic.php?p=358184#p358184Code: Select all
[Unit] Description=Folding@Home for Systemd After=remote-fs.target After=network-online.target Wants=network-online.target [Service] Type=simple WorkingDirectory=/var/lib/fahclient User=fahclient ExecStartPre=!/usr/bin/touch /var/run/fahclient.pid ExecStartPre=!/bin/chown fahclient /var/run/fahclient.pid ExecStart=/usr/bin/FAHClient /etc/fahclient/config.xml --pid-file=/var/run/fahclient.pid [Install] WantedBy=default.target
Yeah, usermod -a -G is probably better, but fahclient does not need to belong to any other groups.muziqaz wrote: ↑Tue Apr 04, 2023 9:45 pm
When adding user to render group, better use sudo usermod -a -G render fahclient
Also, there is a lot of dark magic in the post Most of it is not needed. amdgpu stack sort everything out these days. The only thing at this current moment what is needed is the workaround linked. The fix is coming too for that
This can be pointed out to the dev in GitHub linked few comments up. That way dev is aware of it, if he isn't already. If I have time I'll try V8 service option to see if I encounter any issues.tchiers wrote: ↑Wed Apr 05, 2023 1:10 pmYeah, usermod -a -G is probably better, but fahclient does not need to belong to any other groups.muziqaz wrote: ↑Tue Apr 04, 2023 9:45 pm
When adding user to render group, better use sudo usermod -a -G render fahclient
Also, there is a lot of dark magic in the post Most of it is not needed. amdgpu stack sort everything out these days. The only thing at this current moment what is needed is the workaround linked. The fix is coming too for that
The replacement systemd service is to address this issue: viewtopic.php?p=303571#p303571
It would be great to see all this resolved in the v8 client so people can just install and fold!