Page 1 of 1

dual boot - linux + windows

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 4:14 pm
by tmillic
I regularly use Linux and fold on it. I use Windows when I don't have to do anything productive. All documents, regardless of which OS, are on a file server. I haven't folded on Windows in months because it's not often used, but would it be possible for it to run the work in the same folder that I fold from under Linux when I am on Windows? I haven't got a clue how I would start it or if it can be configured to do so .

Re: dual boot - linux + windows

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 4:31 pm
by 7im
It's possible, can be a pain to setup. I've seen a few threads discuss this before. Try the forum search.

Re: dual boot - linux + windows

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 10:17 pm
by toTOW
Windows and Linux work file are not compatible ... you can't share them between two different OSes :(

But you could run the Windows client under Linux (wine) from a shared location ... or run the linux client in a Linux VM under Windows ... but that will probably be hard to setup :(

Re: dual boot - linux + windows

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 10:29 pm
by tmillic
OK. Thanks.

Re: dual boot - linux + windows

Posted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 7:01 pm
by v00d00
Its fairly easy using wine.

You simply need a folding directory in your .wine/drive_c/ directory.
Some sort of script to get it started and keep it going if it ever crashes.

Beyond that it will just do what it does.

A script example that can be cron'd using crontab.

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

fah6dir="/home/myuser/.wine/drive_c/winfold1"
process=`ps auxw | grep fah6-1.exe | grep -v grep | awk '{print $11}'`

if [ -z "$process" ]; then

  echo "Couldn't find FAH5 running, restarting it."
  cd "$fah6dir"
  nohup screen -DmS winfold1 taskset -c 01 wine fah6-1.exe -forceasm -verbosity 9 -local &
  echo ""

fi
Remove "taskset -c 01" if you arent using a dual or quad core. Its there to just run that process on cpu 1 instead of cpu 0, leaving the first cpu to deal with any system processes and anything you use normally.

With regard crontab, type the following into a xterm before you issue the command: crontab -e. Change nano for the name of your fav text editor, unless you use vim normally, in which case dont bother with the editor line.

Code: Select all

export EDITOR=nano
Now do a crontab -e and set it to run the script how you want it. I tend to use:

Code: Select all

0-59 * * * * /path/to/script