How to use cpulimit [SOLVED]

FAH provides a V7 client installer for Debian / Mint / Ubuntu / RedHat / CentOS / Fedora. Installation on other distros may or may not be easy but if you can offer help to others, they would appreciate it.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

frazelle09
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 11:44 pm
Hardware configuration: description: Desktop Computer
product: Satellite 875
vendor: Toshiba
serial: PCLinuxOS
width: 64 bits
Location: Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico
Contact:

How to use cpulimit [SOLVED]

Post by frazelle09 »

Have been using cputhrottle - to keep the system under 50 C - but it tends to freeze after several days... so i looked for another solution. It seems that there is a cpulimit program, which we also have installed.

When i run htop i see at least 8 processes that have "fah" in them. Does anyone know how i should go about using cpulimit? i can't see trying to use it with each of the 8 or more PIDs i'm seeing under htop. Maybe it can be used just after the FAH program is run???

Have a beautiful week and be happy! :)
Last edited by frazelle09 on Tue Feb 25, 2025 3:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
"The earth is one country and mankind its citizens."
Bahá'u'lláh
"La tierra es un sólo país y la humanidad sus ciudadanos."
Joe_H
Site Admin
Posts: 8074
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Hardware configuration: Mac Studio M1 Max 32 GB smp6
Mac Hack i7-7700K 48 GB smp4
Location: W. MA

Re: How to use cpulimit

Post by Joe_H »

The actual processing is done in the FAHCore_nn processes, fah-client handles getting and returning WUs and processing the log files. The "nn" would be replaced with the core number, a8 and a9 for current CPU WUs and I am not certain the oldest GPU core still being used, but in the 20s.
Image
frazelle09
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 11:44 pm
Hardware configuration: description: Desktop Computer
product: Satellite 875
vendor: Toshiba
serial: PCLinuxOS
width: 64 bits
Location: Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico
Contact:

Re: How to use cpulimit

Post by frazelle09 »

Here's the ChatGPT reply

The " short reply" It took a couple of trys to get this and i still need to make it into some sort of script that the compu can use when booting

cpulimit -e FAHCore_a7 -l 25 -b

Have a great evening! :)
"The earth is one country and mankind its citizens."
Bahá'u'lláh
"La tierra es un sólo país y la humanidad sus ciudadanos."
muziqaz
Posts: 1410
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 6:22 pm
Hardware configuration: 9950x, 7950x3D, 5950x, 5800x3D
7900xtx, RX9070, Radeon 7, 5700xt, 6900xt, RX 550 640SP
Location: London
Contact:

Re: How to use cpulimit [SOLVED]

Post by muziqaz »

Why not just fold on half the cores? Problem solved
FAH Omega tester
Image
arisu
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2025 11:11 pm

Re: How to use cpulimit [SOLVED]

Post by arisu »

If you don't want to fold on fewer cores, then it's better to use cgroups with cpu.max instead of cpulimit.

https://www.kernel.org/doc/html/latest/ ... up-v2.html
promeneur
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 11:59 am
Hardware configuration: openSUSE Tumbleweed, x86_64,Asrock B760M-HDV/M.2 D4, Intel Core i3-12100, 16 GB, Intel UHD Graphics 730, NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030, Edup-Love EP-9651GS Wi-Fi Bluetooth, multicard reader USB 3.0 startech.com 35fcreadbu3, Epson XP 7100, Headset Bluetooth 3.0 Philips SHQ7300

Re: How to use cpulimit [SOLVED]

Post by promeneur »

arisu wrote: Fri Feb 28, 2025 3:44 am If you don't want to fold on fewer cores, then it's better to use cgroups with cpu.max instead of cpulimit.

https://www.kernel.org/doc/html/latest/ ... up-v2.html
It is too techie for me.

Can you write the statements ?

How to add these statements to fah systemd service file ?

Thanks
Image
promeneur
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 11:59 am
Hardware configuration: openSUSE Tumbleweed, x86_64,Asrock B760M-HDV/M.2 D4, Intel Core i3-12100, 16 GB, Intel UHD Graphics 730, NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030, Edup-Love EP-9651GS Wi-Fi Bluetooth, multicard reader USB 3.0 startech.com 35fcreadbu3, Epson XP 7100, Headset Bluetooth 3.0 Philips SHQ7300

Re: How to use cpulimit [SOLVED]

Post by promeneur »

frazelle09 wrote: Tue Feb 25, 2025 1:43 am Have been using cputhrottle - to keep the system under 50 C - but it tends to freeze after several days... so i looked for another solution. It seems that there is a cpulimit program, which we also have installed.

When i run htop i see at least 8 processes that have "fah" in them. Does anyone know how i should go about using cpulimit? i can't see trying to use it with each of the 8 or more PIDs i'm seeing under htop. Maybe it can be used just after the FAH program is run???

Have a beautiful week and be happy! :)
[tuto] openSUSE >= 15.3,Tumbleweed,How to get a silent and cold PC ?

viewtopic.php?t=37572
Image
arisu
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2025 11:11 pm

Re: How to use cpulimit [SOLVED]

Post by arisu »

promeneur wrote: Thu Mar 06, 2025 7:03 am
arisu wrote: Fri Feb 28, 2025 3:44 am If you don't want to fold on fewer cores, then it's better to use cgroups with cpu.max instead of cpulimit.

https://www.kernel.org/doc/html/latest/ ... up-v2.html
It is too techie for me.

Can you write the statements ?

How to add these statements to fah systemd service file ?

Thanks
I don't know enough about systemd for that. But it's preferable to have fewer fast cores than more slow cores. The only time you would want to limit the CPU usage itself is if for some reason you didn't want to just decrease the number of used cores.

But cgroups cpu.max is basically the same as cpulimit except it is handled by the kernel scheduler so it is much faster (turning the thread "on" and "off" much faster than cpulimit ever could). Here is a way to test it manually to see if it's what you want (this makes no persistent changes to your system and will not affect folding stability or reliability, but it will slow it down):

Code: Select all

# mkdir /sys/fs/cgroups/fah
# cd /sys/fs/cgroups/fah
# echo 1000 2000 > cpu.max
# pidof fah-client > cgroups.procs
Then pause and unpause the core and the CPU usage should be limited to 50% (1000us of usage allowed in any given 2000us period). If you remove the /sys/fs/cgroups/fah directory, reboot, or restart the fah-client process itself, then the change will be undone.

But you should really try just folding on fewer cores instead like muziqaz suggested. That will be more efficient.
promeneur
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 11:59 am
Hardware configuration: openSUSE Tumbleweed, x86_64,Asrock B760M-HDV/M.2 D4, Intel Core i3-12100, 16 GB, Intel UHD Graphics 730, NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030, Edup-Love EP-9651GS Wi-Fi Bluetooth, multicard reader USB 3.0 startech.com 35fcreadbu3, Epson XP 7100, Headset Bluetooth 3.0 Philips SHQ7300

Re: How to use cpulimit [SOLVED]

Post by promeneur »

arisu wrote: Fri Feb 28, 2025 3:44 am If you don't want to fold on fewer cores, then it's better to use cgroups with cpu.max instead of cpulimit.

https://www.kernel.org/doc/html/latest/ ... up-v2.html
I choose to combine "a fewer cores" and cpulimit.

But I wait for someone to write a HOWTO for using cgroups and cpu.max with fah.

I searched by browsing internet without any success.
Image
arisu
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2025 11:11 pm

Re: How to use cpulimit [SOLVED]

Post by arisu »

If using fewer cores and using cpulimit is working for you, then there's no need to use cgroups.
promeneur
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 11:59 am
Hardware configuration: openSUSE Tumbleweed, x86_64,Asrock B760M-HDV/M.2 D4, Intel Core i3-12100, 16 GB, Intel UHD Graphics 730, NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030, Edup-Love EP-9651GS Wi-Fi Bluetooth, multicard reader USB 3.0 startech.com 35fcreadbu3, Epson XP 7100, Headset Bluetooth 3.0 Philips SHQ7300

Re: How to use cpulimit [SOLVED]

Post by promeneur »

arisu wrote: Thu Mar 06, 2025 7:29 am If using fewer cores and using cpulimit is working for you, then there's no need to use cgroups.
I would prefer to use this new way using sytemd because perhaps one day cpulimit will be deprecated.
Image
arisu
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2025 11:11 pm

Re: How to use cpulimit [SOLVED]

Post by arisu »

I'm sure there is a way to do it smoothly with systemd but I do not know how.
toTOW
Site Moderator
Posts: 6411
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Re: How to use cpulimit [SOLVED]

Post by toTOW »

If you want to get a silent folding machine, don't fold on crappy laptops or get a desktop with high quality coolers and fans.

No need to mess with useless software.
Image

Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.
arisu
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2025 11:11 pm

Re: How to use cpulimit [SOLVED]

Post by arisu »

That too. If the machine is being loud (and isn't aging) then it's not designed to be silent under load. FAH puts the system under load and the more load, the better. Of course folding on that machine is better than nothing but you really shouldn't need to throttle its usage.

There used to be a way to directly pass extra arguments to the core, and you could pass -cpu and then a percentage. This is no longer possible with the v8 client although the core still supports it. I read on github that there were no plans to restore the ability to pass extra arguments to the core.
Joe_H
Site Admin
Posts: 8074
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Hardware configuration: Mac Studio M1 Max 32 GB smp6
Mac Hack i7-7700K 48 GB smp4
Location: W. MA

Re: How to use cpulimit [SOLVED]

Post by Joe_H »

That ability to pass "-cpu" to the core dates back to very old single threaded CPU folding cores. The last I knew it did not work properly with newer multi-threaded cores, it just limited one thread. Indirectly that slowed things down as the other threads all would be waiting for the slowed thread to catch up.

The rest of the uses of passing parameters to the folding cores in the v7 client were mostly used for testing purposes, not in general usage.
Image
Post Reply