Intel iGPUs - supported now? [No]
Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team
Intel iGPUs - supported now? [No]
I've just reinstalled my laptop with Windows 10 2004 and did a fresh installation of FAH 7.6.13. To my surprise the client created a GPU slot for the Intel iGPU: Gen9p5/GT2 [HD Graphics 630]. So far no work for that slot though. Is this expected behaviour? Are Intel iGPUs supported now or is it a glitch? Thanks.
Windows 11 x64 / 5800X@5Ghz / 32GB DDR4 3800 CL14 / 4090 FE / Creative Titanium HD / Sennheiser 650 / PSU Corsair AX1200i
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7937
- Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
- Hardware configuration: Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp4
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp2 - Location: W. MA
Re: Intel iGPUs - supported now?
They are not supported currently.
Could you post the log from the reinstallation showing it creating a GPU folding slot?
Could you post the log from the reinstallation showing it creating a GPU folding slot?
iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Re: Intel iGPUs - supported now?
Here (unless you meant a different log:Joe_H wrote:They are not supported currently.
Could you post the log from the reinstallation showing it creating a GPU folding slot?
Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2020-05-23T12:43:39Z ***********************
12:43:39:Trying to access database...
12:43:39:Successfully acquired database lock
12:43:39:Downloading GPUs.txt from assign1.foldingathome.org:80
12:43:39:Connecting to assign1.foldingathome.org:80
12:43:40:Read GPUs.txt
12:43:40:Enabled folding slot 00: PAUSED cpu:2 (not configured)
12:43:41:Enabled folding slot 01: PAUSED gpu:0:Gen9p5/GT2 [HD Graphics 630] (not configured)
12:43:41:Enabled folding slot 02: PAUSED gpu:1:GP107M [GeForce GTX 1050 Mobile] (not configured)
12:43:41:****************************** FAHClient ******************************
12:43:41: Version: 7.6.13
12:43:41: Author: Joseph Coffland <[email protected]>
12:43:41: Copyright: 2020 foldingathome.org
12:43:41: Homepage: https://foldingathome.org/
12:43:41: Date: Apr 27 2020
12:43:41: Time: 21:21:01
12:43:41: Revision: 5a652817f46116b6e135503af97f18e094414e3b
12:43:41: Branch: master
12:43:41: Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
12:43:41: Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
12:43:41: Platform: win32 10
12:43:41: Bits: 32
12:43:41: Mode: Release
12:43:41: Args: --open-web-control
12:43:41:******************************** CBang ********************************
12:43:41: Date: Apr 24 2020
12:43:41: Time: 17:07:55
12:43:41: Revision: ea081a3b3b0f4a37c4d0440b4f1bc184197c7797
12:43:41: Branch: master
12:43:41: Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
12:43:41: Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
12:43:41: Platform: win32 10
12:43:41: Bits: 32
12:43:41: Mode: Release
12:43:41:******************************* System ********************************
12:43:41: CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-7700HQ CPU @ 2.80GHz
12:43:41: CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 158 Stepping 9
12:43:41: CPUs: 8
12:43:41: Memory: 15.83GiB
12:43:41: Free Memory: 8.41GiB
12:43:41: Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
12:43:41: OS Version: 6.2
12:43:41: Has Battery: true
12:43:41: On Battery: false
12:43:41: UTC Offset: 2
12:43:41: PID: 15336
12:43:41: CWD: C:\Users\alexa\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient
12:43:41: Win32 Service: false
12:43:41: OS: Windows 10 Enterprise
12:43:41: OS Arch: AMD64
12:43:41: GPUs: 2
12:43:41: GPU 0: Bus:0 Slot:2 Func:0 INTEL:0 Gen9p5/GT2 [HD Graphics 630]
12:43:41: GPU 1: Bus:1 Slot:0 Func:0 NVIDIA:5 GP107M [GeForce GTX 1050 Mobile]
12:43:41: CUDA Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:6.1 Driver:11.0
12:43:41:OpenCL Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:1.2 Driver:445.87
12:43:41:OpenCL Device 1: Platform:1 Device:0 Bus:NA Slot:NA Compute:2.1 Driver:27.20
12:43:41:******************************* libFAH ********************************
12:43:41: Date: Apr 15 2020
12:43:41: Time: 14:53:14
12:43:41: Revision: 216968bc7025029c841ed6e36e81a03a316890d3
12:43:41: Branch: master
12:43:41: Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
12:43:41: Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
12:43:41: Platform: win32 10
12:43:41: Bits: 32
12:43:41: Mode: Release
12:43:41:***********************************************************************
12:43:41:<config>
12:43:41: <!-- Folding Slots -->
12:43:41: <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
12:43:41: <slot id='1' type='GPU'/>
12:43:41: <slot id='2' type='GPU'/>
12:43:41:</config>
12:43:44:17:127.0.0.1:New Web session
12:44:04:Set client configured
Windows 11 x64 / 5800X@5Ghz / 32GB DDR4 3800 CL14 / 4090 FE / Creative Titanium HD / Sennheiser 650 / PSU Corsair AX1200i
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7937
- Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
- Hardware configuration: Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp4
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp2 - Location: W. MA
Re: Intel iGPUs - supported now?
Okay, that is what I was looking for.
Checking a bit further, a number of iGPUs from Intel processors were added to the GPUs.txt file recently, but listed as unsupported. For example:
The client shouldn't have added a slot for the unsupported GPU, but apparently did. It is possible your install downloaded a prior edit of the GPUs.txt file, and the entry had not been marked unsupported at the time.
Checking a bit further, a number of iGPUs from Intel processors were added to the GPUs.txt file recently, but listed as unsupported. For example:
Code: Select all
0x8086:0x5912:::Gen9p5/GT2 [HD Graphics 630]
iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Re: Intel iGPUs - supported now?
Thanks. In my case, I have:Joe_H wrote:Okay, that is what I was looking for.
Checking a bit further, a number of iGPUs from Intel processors were added to the GPUs.txt file recently, but listed as unsupported. For example:The client shouldn't have added a slot for the unsupported GPU, but apparently did. It is possible your install downloaded a prior edit of the GPUs.txt file, and the entry had not been marked unsupported at the time.Code: Select all
0x8086:0x5912:::Gen9p5/GT2 [HD Graphics 630]
Code: Select all
0x8086:0x5912:3:0:Gen9p5/GT2 [HD Graphics 630]
...
0x8086:0x591b:3:0:Gen9p5/GT2 [HD Graphics 630]
http://assign1.foldingathome.org/GPUs.txt.bz2
Windows 11 x64 / 5800X@5Ghz / 32GB DDR4 3800 CL14 / 4090 FE / Creative Titanium HD / Sennheiser 650 / PSU Corsair AX1200i
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7937
- Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
- Hardware configuration: Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp4
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp2 - Location: W. MA
Re: Intel iGPUs - supported now?
The download link for the current file is https://apps.foldingathome.org/GPUs.txt. There may be a delay in that getting loaded onto the server after an update.
iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Re: Intel iGPUs - supported now?
Well, maybe it should go to apps.foldingathome.org/GPUs.txt, but it doesn't - I looked at the HTTP requests and also at FAHClient.exe - it goes to the address I quote above.Joe_H wrote:The download link for the current file is https://apps.foldingathome.org/GPUs.txt. There may be a delay in that getting loaded onto the server after an update.
I think this was introduced in 7.6.10:
## v7.6.10
- Download GPUs.txt at startup before configuring the slots.
Oh, well. I'll fix it manually. Pity that it's improper behaviour, I was getting excited about iGPU support
[Edit: Ah, you meant that it will sync from apps.foldinghome.org/GPUs.txt to the AS. I'll just fetch the correct file manually.]
Last edited by Breach on Sat May 23, 2020 6:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Windows 11 x64 / 5800X@5Ghz / 32GB DDR4 3800 CL14 / 4090 FE / Creative Titanium HD / Sennheiser 650 / PSU Corsair AX1200i
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7937
- Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
- Hardware configuration: Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp4
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp2 - Location: W. MA
Re: Intel iGPUs - supported now?
iGPU support is on the "maybe" list. They did get a lot of offers for software development help, and there was a very long list of wished for items to be worked on. Will have to wait and see which make it out to actual release. If this does make it out, watch for announcements here or on the Twitter or Facebook F@h sites.
iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Re: Intel iGPUs - supported now?
Thanks. Unlike nVidia, Intel at least seem quite serious about their OpenCL support. On the other hand, I guess performance won't be stellar. On the third hand, mostly anyone has integrated graphics. And then, as Greg pointed out, "we need developers", so I guess there are quite a few things on the various lists. I am already following FAH on Twitter, let's see...Joe_H wrote:iGPU support is on the "maybe" list. They did get a lot of offers for software development help, and there was a very long list of wished for items to be worked on. Will have to wait and see which make it out to actual release. If this does make it out, watch for announcements here or on the Twitter or Facebook F@h sites.
Cheers!
Windows 11 x64 / 5800X@5Ghz / 32GB DDR4 3800 CL14 / 4090 FE / Creative Titanium HD / Sennheiser 650 / PSU Corsair AX1200i
Re: Intel iGPUs - supported now?
Both the device 5912 and the device 591b have the same man-readable description and both are Kaby Lake devices. The real question is which device you really have. Assuming your running Windows, download and run GPU-Z and get a readout of your actual hardware ID code -- or if you're running Linux, you can run FAHClient --lspci (or your distro may already contain lspci) and grep for the applicable codes. (There are probably several other ways to get that same information.)Breach wrote:Thanks. In my case, I have:
Seems a wrong GPUs.txt was pushed to AS1 then, as it's still incorrect server-side:Code: Select all
0x8086:0x5912:3:0:Gen9p5/GT2 [HD Graphics 630] ... 0x8086:0x591b:3:0:Gen9p5/GT2 [HD Graphics 630]
http://assign1.foldingathome.org/GPUs.txt.bz2
Since the're not supported, it not critical but I"d be happy to correct it for future reference.
Posting FAH's log:
How to provide enough info to get helpful support.
How to provide enough info to get helpful support.
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 6:54 am
Re: Intel iGPUs - supported now?
at least Intel's UHD graphics are supported, but waiting time till WU is assigned is very VERY long.
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 6:54 am
Re: Intel iGPUs - supported now?
update: i guess not
so we could only use cpu for laptops
so we could only use cpu for laptops
Re: Intel iGPUs - supported now?
In my case:bruce wrote:Both the device 5912 and the device 591b have the same man-readable description and both are Kaby Lake devices. The real question is which device you really have. Assuming your running Windows, download and run GPU-Z and get a readout of your actual hardware ID code -- or if you're running Linux, you can run FAHClient --lspci (or your distro may already contain lspci) and grep for the applicable codes. (There are probably several other ways to get that same information.)Breach wrote:Thanks. In my case, I have:
Seems a wrong GPUs.txt was pushed to AS1 then, as it's still incorrect server-side:Code: Select all
0x8086:0x5912:3:0:Gen9p5/GT2 [HD Graphics 630] ... 0x8086:0x591b:3:0:Gen9p5/GT2 [HD Graphics 630]
http://assign1.foldingathome.org/GPUs.txt.bz2
Since the're not supported, it not critical but I"d be happy to correct it for future reference.
QuadCore Intel Core i7-7700HQ, 3500 MHz (35 x 100)
Kaby Lake-H
Intel Kaby Lake-H GT2 - Integrated Graphics Controller
Intel Gen9.5
8086-591B / 1028-07BE (Rev 04)
Windows 11 x64 / 5800X@5Ghz / 32GB DDR4 3800 CL14 / 4090 FE / Creative Titanium HD / Sennheiser 650 / PSU Corsair AX1200i
Re: Intel iGPUs - supported now? [No]
I don't see a problem. You have the second one listed: 8086-591B.
I don't know why there are two different devices but most likely they're very, very similar except for some small functional difference.
I don't know why there are two different devices but most likely they're very, very similar except for some small functional difference.
Posting FAH's log:
How to provide enough info to get helpful support.
How to provide enough info to get helpful support.
Re: Intel iGPUs - supported now? [No]
The description is not a problem. The problem is the :3:0: part, which makes the FAH client think that the device is supported.
Windows 11 x64 / 5800X@5Ghz / 32GB DDR4 3800 CL14 / 4090 FE / Creative Titanium HD / Sennheiser 650 / PSU Corsair AX1200i