ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to connect

If you're new to FAH and need help getting started or you have very basic questions, start here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

ponley
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 10:14 pm

Re: ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to connect

Post by ponley »

No the client fails still to retrieve a core. It finished the WU, downloaded a new WU and uploaded the finished WU but if I move the core file forcing the client to retrieve it again that fails. Looking at the network with Wireshark I see no activity from the client after the DNS request so the client is not even trying to perform the download. The code my be having a problem with the format of an IPv6 address. I would at this point suggest removing the CNAME record pointing http://www.stanford.edu to www-v6.stanford.edu until the reason the connection is failing on IPv6 can be determined. A request for an IPv4 address at http://www.stanford.edu returns the desired result.

Code: Select all

paul@Asthmatic:~/folding$ dig a www.stanford.edu

; <<>> DiG 9.8.1-P1 <<>> a www.stanford.edu
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 12935
;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;www.stanford.edu.              IN      A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
www.stanford.edu.       0       IN      A       171.67.215.200

;; Query time: 2 msec
;; SERVER: 192.168.2.1#53(192.168.2.1)
;; WHEN: Thu Aug  9 10:48:31 2012
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 50

paul@Asthmatic:~/folding$ 
so just removing the CNAME record forwarding the IPv6 requests to www-v6.stanford.edu should temporarily fix the problem.

Out of curiosity, is www-v6.stanford.edu on the same server as http://www.stanford.edu?

Also, A friend of mine Lyle at LCR Computer Services, Inc, suggested a solution at the users end that does not require disabling IPv6 on the users computer is to put an entry for http://www.stanford.edu in the hosts file (I believe this is lmhosts on windows) which will bypass the DNS call until the DNS server can be updated. Just remember to remove or update this entry when and if Stanford resolves this issue or moves the server to a different address so that you can use DNS to resolve the hostname. I am doing this here on linux and the client is able to download the core just fine.
7im
Posts: 10179
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Hardware configuration: Intel i7-4770K @ 4.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3-2133 Corsair Vengence (black/red), EVGA GTX 760 @ 1200 MHz, on an Asus Maximus VI Hero MB (black/red), in a blacked out Antec P280 Tower, with a Xigmatek Night Hawk (black) HSF, Seasonic 760w Platinum (black case, sleeves, wires), 4 SilenX 120mm Case fans with silicon fan gaskets and silicon mounts (all black), a 512GB Samsung SSD (black), and a 2TB Black Western Digital HD (silver/black).
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Re: ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to connect

Post by 7im »

Location of hosts file for various OS. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hosts_(fil ... ile_system
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
toTOW
Site Moderator
Posts: 6359
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Re: ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to connect

Post by toTOW »

There is an open ticket about this issue. The v7 client can't download cores if IPv6 is enabled.

As far as I know, the only way to make it work is to disable IPv6 support temporarily to let the client get the core. Then, you can enable it again (until the client needs to download another core).
Image

Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.
codysluder
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:43 pm

Re: ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to connect

Post by codysluder »

uncle_fungus wrote:The question now is, will the FAHclient, now that the address is correctly resolvable, actually connect and download work over IPv6?
I've seen reports of people folding over IPv6 provided it's an old installation which had already downloaded a FahCore, so the answer is YES, it will download work. The error I've seen is that it has been failing to download a FahCore, so that's really the question.
ponley
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 10:14 pm

Re: ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to connect

Post by ponley »

The fah client can upload completed WU's and download new WU's because the assigment servers do not have IPv6 addresses.

Code: Select all

; <<>> DiG 9.8.1-P1 <<>> aaaa assign3.stanford.edu
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 28411
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;assign3.stanford.edu.          IN      AAAA

;; ANSWER SECTION:
assign3.stanford.edu.   1800    IN      CNAME   vsp10v-vz00.stanford.edu.

;; Query time: 91 msec
;; SERVER: 192.168.2.1#53(192.168.2.1)
;; WHEN: Thu Aug  9 16:02:49 2012
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 64
The cores are only served on http://www.stanford.edu which does resolve to an IPv6 address.

Code: Select all

; <<>> DiG 9.8.1-P1 <<>> aaaa www.stanford.edu
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 17349
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 2, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;www.stanford.edu.              IN      AAAA

;; ANSWER SECTION:
www.stanford.edu.       300     IN      CNAME   www-v6.stanford.edu.
www-v6.stanford.edu.    1800    IN      AAAA    2607:f6d0:0:925a::ab43:d7c8

;; Query time: 137 msec
;; SERVER: 192.168.2.1#53(192.168.2.1)
;; WHEN: Thu Aug  9 16:21:09 2012
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 83
The current situation is that Stanford is telling the fahclient to use the IPv6 address (by way of DNS) to download the cores but the client does not know how.

The link above regarding setting Microsoft to prefer IPv4 to IPv6 is in response to a growing problems where sites and applications find themselves with IPv6 connectivity that they are not prepared for and rather than disable their own IPv6 connectivity they ask the whole world to do it instead.

In the long term the solution would be to fix the IPv6 issue in the fahclient

In the short term there are several options:

1) Ask everyone who has IPv6 connectivity (a number that keeps growing) to turn it off in the OS (not everyone will even know what IPv6 is let alone how to turn it off), thus severing their connection to any internet content that is not also available on IPv4 (an increasing number of sites).

2) Do not serve an IPv6 address for http://www.stanford.edu. This may or may not be possible depending on the need for IPv6 connectivity for other services using http://www.stanford.edu.

3) Use a different hostname for serving the cores and only serve an IPv4 address for this hostname. This would mean incorporating a change in the code (albeit a trivial one) but would also mean distributing the new code to all users.
jcoffland
Site Admin
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 6:42 pm
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Contact:

Re: ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to connect

Post by jcoffland »

I just looked into implementing IPv6 in more detail. It's going to take some significant changes that will effect a lot of code. The main issue is that there is a lot of code that assumes an IP address is a 4 byte integer. It probably wont happen for awhile.

However, in my digging I found that when the client does hostname lookups it is not specifying which address type it wants. This works fine when there is only an IPv4 address. I've added code that specifically requests an IPv4 address. This will hopefully solve the problem you are experiencing. A new client will becoming out soon in internal testing and then beta.
Cauldron Development LLC
http://cauldrondevelopment.com/
ponley
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 10:14 pm

Re: ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to connect

Post by ponley »

I look forward to the new client. I knew that the getaddress request returned IPv6 then IPv4 but I did not know you could specifically request just IPv4.
FliesLikeABrick
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 7:38 pm

Re: ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to connect

Post by FliesLikeABrick »

Any updates on this? We have half a dozen high-powered web servers that we would like to run FAH on... however they have IPv6 enabled as we run a large number of IPv6-accessible sites. Turning off IPv6 is not an option.
P5-133XL
Posts: 2948
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:36 am
Hardware configuration: Machine #1:

Intel Q9450; 2x2GB=8GB Ram; Gigabyte GA-X48-DS4 Motherboard; PC Power and Cooling Q750 PS; 2x GTX 460; Windows Server 2008 X64 (SP1).

Machine #2:

Intel Q6600; 2x2GB=4GB Ram; Gigabyte GA-X48-DS4 Motherboard; PC Power and Cooling Q750 PS; 2x GTX 460 video card; Windows 7 X64.

Machine 3:

Dell Dimension 8400, 3.2GHz P4 4x512GB Ram, Video card GTX 460, Windows 7 X32

I am currently folding just on the 5x GTX 460's for aprox. 70K PPD
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to connect

Post by P5-133XL »

FliesLikeABrick wrote:Any updates on this? We have half a dozen high-powered web servers that we would like to run FAH on... however they have IPv6 enabled as we run a large number of IPv6-accessible sites. Turning off IPv6 is not an option.
As long as you run a dual stack Windows setup, then you can specify to try IPV4 first and then use IPv6 if that doesn't work: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2533454 and that solves the folding problem in the short run. Long-term folding needs to support IPV6, but that may take a while.
Image
FliesLikeABrick
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 7:38 pm

Re: ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to connect

Post by FliesLikeABrick »

As mentioned, disabling IPv6 (including making IPv4 more preferable) is not an option for us - we have spent quite a bit of effort to get IPv6 fully deployed and cannot regress on it. Also we are on Linux, so there's that too :)

I will subscribe to this thread in case there are any future updates. For now we'll have to forego folding on these and many other machines (our entire infrastructure is IPv6-enabled and uses IPv6 to communicate both within and outside of our network)
bruce
Posts: 20824
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to connect

Post by bruce »

Ticket #914 says it will be fixed whenever V7.2 is ready for a public beta. You should subscribe to the thread that tells when there's a new version available.
FliesLikeABrick
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 7:38 pm

Re: ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to connect

Post by FliesLikeABrick »

Thanks. I also found a work-around that does not require disabling IPv6, even though it is still less than ideal

If you edit your /etc/hosts file (or the equivalen on Windows, somewhere in c:\Windows), you can add the following line:

171.67.215.200 www.stanford.edu

This will override DNS resolution of www.stanford.edu and F@H then starts up properly because the application no longer sees the CNAME and resulting AAAA record.

Note: This is not ideal and should be removed once F@H is successfully running, until the next time the workaround is needed (next time F@H restarts or needs to update again). This is because if www.stanford.edu ever gets moved to another IP address, applications on the machine in question will not know (as unlikely as this is to happen any time soon)

I have confirmed this worked and now have F@H working on all machines necessary, but I look forward to the proper fix being out - and ideally having proper v6 support some time in the future so that IPv6-only compute clusters and other IPv6-only machines can run F@H.
bruce
Posts: 20824
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to connect

Post by bruce »

That's an excellent piece of detective work. Thanks for the third work-around.

That edit to /etc/hosts only fixes one address, yet the current V7 client is able to fold on your IPV6-only servers once you get past that initial problem. You did say that FAH was running on your systems and I know it uses a lot of OTHER servers that only have IPV4 addresses. (See http://fah-web.stanford.edu/pybeta/serverstat.html) I'd guess that if V7.2.0 can properly handle the initial connection to www.stanford.edu (using either IPV6 or IPV4) it will be able to do whatever it is doing right now with the rest of the servers.
FliesLikeABrick
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 7:38 pm

Re: ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to connect

Post by FliesLikeABrick »

Indeed, those IPv6-only servers are not running FAH and can't until all of the other servers at Stanford/elsewhere which support F@H and WU distribution/collection are dual-stacked. I may not have been clear - we're now able to run (with this work-around) F@H on our dual-stack servers, but not yet on our IPv6 servers. We are looking forward to proper IPv6 support in F@H and on the supporting servers.

So to clarify - it is not and can-not run on our IPv6-only servers, since the assignment servers (and probably others required) are v4-only on Stanford's side.

From that ticket I'm gathering that v7.2.0 doesn't support IPv6 - it just has a patch in it to avoid trying to use IPv6 brokenly. This will let it work on dual-stack servers like ours without requiring a workaround.
7im
Posts: 10179
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Hardware configuration: Intel i7-4770K @ 4.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3-2133 Corsair Vengence (black/red), EVGA GTX 760 @ 1200 MHz, on an Asus Maximus VI Hero MB (black/red), in a blacked out Antec P280 Tower, with a Xigmatek Night Hawk (black) HSF, Seasonic 760w Platinum (black case, sleeves, wires), 4 SilenX 120mm Case fans with silicon fan gaskets and silicon mounts (all black), a 512GB Samsung SSD (black), and a 2TB Black Western Digital HD (silver/black).
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Re: ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to connect

Post by 7im »

FliesLikeABrick wrote:Thanks. I also found a work-around that does not require disabling IPv6, even though it is still less than ideal

If you edit your /etc/hosts file (or the equivalen on Windows, somewhere in c:\Windows), you can add the following line:

171.67.215.200 http://www.stanford.edu
Host file locations for various OS.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hosts_(fil ... ile_system
NT, 2000, XP (x86 & x64),[4] 2003, Vista, 7 and 8 - %SystemRoot%\system32\drivers\etc\hosts
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
Post Reply