I find QD-TOOLS to be very useful, on my linux systems, it extracts
all sorts of useful information about work units. There was an update
today, downloaded and now it's reporting an error.
./qd: /lib/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.7' not found (required by ./qd)
My CentOS systems are updated to the most recently released patches
The installed glib is ver 2.5
Can this be easily fixed?
qd update broken?
Moderator: Site Moderators
-
- Posts: 471
- Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 6:20 am
- Location: Amsterdam
- Contact:
Re: qd update broken?
You can recompile qd, source and Makefile are provided in the tarball, unpack it and run make from inside the unpacked directory. Or compile qd manually:
The configure script (automatically run by make) contains bashisms, so if /bin/sh is a link to dash link recent Debian & Ubuntu releases you need to change the shebang to #!/bin/bash
The bashisms have been fixed in qd-tools v2.6.7, and I've recompiled the qd binaries. The Linux binary is now compiled on Debian Squeeze, so compiles against eglibc 2.11.2, this one may work for you now too.
Code: Select all
gcc -Wall -s -lm -O2 -DSYSTYPE=0 -o qd source/qd/qd.c
The bashisms have been fixed in qd-tools v2.6.7, and I've recompiled the qd binaries. The Linux binary is now compiled on Debian Squeeze, so compiles against eglibc 2.11.2, this one may work for you now too.
-
- Posts: 363
- Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 7:33 am
- Hardware configuration: Running exclusively Linux headless blades. All are dedicated crunching machines.
- Location: SE Michigan, USA
Re: qd update broken?
THANKS! I will save the information for the next time I need it. You are a life saver!
# retrieve latest qd.c
rm -f qd.c
wget http://linuxminded.xs4all.nl/software/q ... ce/qd/qd.c
# then recompile
gcc -Wall -s -lm -O2 -DSYSTYPE=0 -o qd qd.c
# retrieve latest qd.c
rm -f qd.c
wget http://linuxminded.xs4all.nl/software/q ... ce/qd/qd.c
# then recompile
gcc -Wall -s -lm -O2 -DSYSTYPE=0 -o qd qd.c
-
- Posts: 471
- Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 6:20 am
- Location: Amsterdam
- Contact:
Re: qd update broken?
You can skip the rm if you let wget overwrite the file
And if you prefer to use IPv6, you can replace linuxminded.xs4all.nl with linuxminded.nl which also has an AAAA record in the DNS.
Code: Select all
wget http://linuxminded.xs4all.nl/software/qd-tools/source/qd/qd.c -O qd.c
Re: qd update broken?
Nice. I just recently got an IPv6 tunnel with a subnet up and running.smoking2000 wrote:And if you prefer to use IPv6, you can replace linuxminded.xs4all.nl with linuxminded.nl which also has an AAAA record in the DNS.
-
- Posts: 471
- Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 6:20 am
- Location: Amsterdam
- Contact:
Re: qd update broken?
I've found out that compiling qd with -D_GNU_SOURCE allows the binary build on Debian Squeeze to run on CentOS 5 too.
So I've updated the qd update script to use this, and packaged it all up in the second release of qd-tools today: v2.6.8
So I've updated the qd update script to use this, and packaged it all up in the second release of qd-tools today: v2.6.8